She Stopped loving him today

Well, what do I say to you babe, that I have not already said……. here is a poem I wrote last night as I was laying in bed….not wanting to accept where we were, wanting to hold onto you tighter…..but I knew the firmest grasp would only drive you away……so to show you I love you, I have to say goodbye.

There are so many things i regret, so many promises never kept………I left you alone against the world, you carried burdens for us all……and when you asked me for my love…….I just stood there quietly…….

I let it all just slip away, because of stupid games that I played, payed more attention to other things, and made you wonder why you stayed……. today I watched you walk away……had no right to ask you why……all i could do was let you go………..while inside my soul had died.

I built this bridge on neglect and pain, I let your heart lose pace with mine…. I did these things to drive to away…..and now all I can do is cry.

I see the path i lost in life, a road I strayed down once or twice…..I let these foolish things get in the way  and let our love die today….

But I will love you till I die……through everything we gave away……I will love you endlessly and hope you find your way back home to me……a thousand journeys I will take…….search for you across space and time……but i will love you till I die till I hold you one more time, tell I gaze upon your eyes and you will know my love will never die…….

My poor attempt at poetry……….. I know now the chances are almost non existent. But you know me, I loved you through it all, I never stopped no matter what, my heart belongs to YOU and that’s just the cross that I must bare.  I hope you find the love and happiness you want, i prayed you might still find it with me, but if you don’t its ok….Because I’ll still love you anyway.  Goodnight Donna!

 

Leave a Reply

